Lucky Dip Bursaries

About the Bursary

The Lucky Dip Bursary is an annual scheme which offers ten artists in the SO postcode £500 to fund the creation of a new artwork or activity.

The application process will be light-touch and proposals will not be assessed. The bursaries will be awarded to artists through a lottery selection. This experimental new approach was originally proposed by Southampton based artists Dave Hubble and sarah filmer and adapted by ‘a space’ arts in response to a recent review of how our Arts Council England National Portfolio Organisation (NPO) funding supports artists and to proactively remove barriers around inclusion, application and selection processes.

We understand that the past few years have been very challenging for artists across the country. Loss of income from postponed or canceled projects and shortages of other employment opportunities in the wake of the pandemic have made it difficult for artists to fund their practice. The Lucky Dip Bursary Scheme will provide financial support and positivity at this difficult time by enabling ten local artists to make new work.

‘a space’ arts is committed to becoming an anti-racist organisation and as part of this work five of the Lucky Dip Bursaries will be offered to people of the global majority*.


*Notes on terminology:

  • We acknowledge language is fluid and evolving and aim to ensure our use of language remains inclusive and inoffensive.
  • As an organisation we have joined the movement to reject the acronym BAME as this state-manufactured term flattens and depoliticises global solidarity between people with a lived experiences of racism.
  • We acknowledge the term ‘people of global majority’ as it is factually true with over 80% of the world’s population making up the global majority of non-white peoples.

Previous Lucky Dip Bursary Recipients

Lucy Pick (2023 recipient)

Dave Hubble (2022 recipient)

Wenjun Xie (2022 recipient)

Mandy Smith (2022 recipient)

Martin Ruddock (2022 recipient)

Robin Price (2022 recipient)

Katie Moody (2022 recipient)

Edgar Lushaju (2022 recipient)

Sonia Jackson (2022 recipient)

Josie Gray (2022 recipient)

Dana Dohotaru (2022 recipient)

Emmanuel Boateng (2022 recipient)