Announcing the 2023 Lucky Dip Bursary recipients

As the Lucky Dip Bursary Scheme enters its third successful year, we were thrilled to receive so many submissions for the upcoming 2023 programme, and we’re delighted to be supporting a new cohort of talented visual artists and creatives based in the Southampton area.

We invited special guest and friend of the organisation, Olu Rowe (BHM South Coordinator), to pick 10 names out of a hat as part of this experimental, lottery style selection process and we’re pleased to announce the selected artists for Lucky Dip 2023 are:

Maria Bates, Sharron Bruty, Sal Chitulu, Intan Sandra Dewi, Helen Harvey, Ebonie Inch, Jemimah Johnson, Violetta Liszka, Lucy Pick and Rabia Raja.

The bursary recipients will receive £500 to create a new piece of work which they will develop over the following months ahead of a group showcase exhibition later this year at our flagship venue God’s House Tower. As part of our ongoing work in removing barriers for underrepresented artists and honouring our anti-racism action plan, 5 of the 10 bursaries have been awarded to global majority artists. 

If your name was not selected this time do not despair, there are many other ways that ‘a space’ arts can help to support you and your creative practice. Head to our Artist Development page to find out more.

A massive congratulations to the lucky winners! We’ll be introducing you to them over the next few weeks on our Instagram. Stay tuned!